(The Center Square) – Ohio earned a grade of “C” for how its economic reopening is proceeding in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic, according to a ranking by groups that promote economic prosperity.

The grade is based on the leadership of Republican Gov. Mike DeWine, the analysis by the Committee to Unleash Prosperity and FreedomWorks reports. The report assessed the potential damage state actions are doing to the economic well-being of residents and in particular how late reopening dates may cause more severe economic downturns.

The analysis rejects the claim that governors who keep their states closed through stay-at-home orders are truly protecting the well-being of citizens, even as the virus has killed more than 80,000 Americans.

“Even from a public health standpoint, the very negative effects from job loss, poverty, business failure and so on are causing social pathologies to soar – suicides, depression, stress, heart attack, spousal and child abuse cases, drug overdoses, alcohol abuse, financial ruin and deprivation,” the report states.

The number of reported Covid-19 cases and death rates have slowed nationwide, and the overall curve seems to have flattened, the report claims. 


Covid-19 Reopening Grades by Jurisdiction

State / TerritoryGovernor / MayorGrade
ColoradoJared Polis (D)A
FloridaRon DeSantis (R)A
GeorgiaBrian Kemp (R)A
IowaKim Reynolds (R)A
NebraskaPete Ricketts (R)A
OklahomaKevin Stitt (R)A
South DakotaKristi Noem (R)A
TennesseeBill Lee (R)A
WyomingMark Gordon (R)A
AlabamaKay Ivey (R)B
AlaskaMike Dunleavy (R)B
ArkansasAsa Hutchinson (R)B
LouisianaJohn Bel Edwards (D)B
MississippiTate Reeves (R)B
MissouriMike Parson (R)B
MontanaSteve Bullock (D)B
North DakotaDoug Burgum (R)B
South CarolinaHenry McMaster (R)B
TexasGreg Abbott (R)B
UtahGary Herbert (R)B
ArizonaDoug Ducey (R)C
IdahoBrad Little (R)C
IndianaEric Holcomb (R)C
KentuckyAndy Beshear (D)C
MassachusettsCharlie Baker (R)C
MinnesotaTim Walz (D)C
NevadaSteve Sisolak (D)C
New HampshireChris Sununu (R)C
New YorkAndrew Cuomo (D)C
OhioMike DeWine (R)C
VermontPhil Scott (R)C
CaliforniaGavin Newsom (D)D
ConnecticutNed Lamont (D)D
DelawareJohn Carney (D)D
HawaiiDavid Ige (D)D
IllinoisJ.B. Pritzker (D)D
KansasLaura Kelly (D)D
MaineJanet Mills (D)D
MarylandLarry Hogan (R)D
MichiganGretchen Whitmer (D)D
New MexicoMichelle Lujan Grisham (D)D
North CarolinaRoy Cooper (D)D
OregonKate Brown (D)D
Rhode IslandGina Raimondo (D)D
WashingtonJay Inslee (D)D
West VirginiaJim Justice (R)D
District of ColumbiaMuriel Bowser (D)F
New JerseyPhil Murphy (D)F
PennsylvaniaTom Wolf (D)F
VirginiaRalph Northam (D)F
WisconsinTony Evers (D)F

Source: Committee to Unleash Prosperity