(The Center Square) – With the race to 270 electoral votes still too close to call, Vice President Joe Biden pulled ahead in Wisconsin and Michigan Wednesday while President Donald Trump maintained his leads in Pennsylvania, North Carolina and Georgia.

Biden held a 238-213 electoral vote advantage over Trump, according to The Associated Press, with final vote counts in the other battleground states to determine the winner.

Trump won key battleground states in Ohio, Florida and Texas late Tuesday, but his overnight leads in Wisconsin and Michigan flipped into laser-thin advantages for Biden.

Trump's campaign team signaled it would seek a recount in Wisconsin if election officials there determined Biden was the winner.

Votes in Nevada, an expected Biden win, and Alaska, an expected Trump win, were also still being counted Wednesday and no winner has been declared in either state.

In early morning comments before supporters, Trump said he was poised to win Tuesday night but questioned why races weren't called in Georgia, Michigan, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Wisconsin, where he held leads into the early morning hours.

"We had such a big night," Trump said. ... "We were going to win this election. Frankly, we did win this election," claiming that the integrity of the election was in question.

A few hours later, new vote counts in Wisconsin and Michigan gave Biden the slight advantage.

Before Trump spoke, Biden told supporters he was confident he would still win despite the deficits in the remaining key battleground states.

"We feel good about where we are," Biden said. "We believe we're on track to win this election."

Trump so far has been declared the winner in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and West Virginia.

Biden won Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusets, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washigton and Wyoming.

Nebraska and Maine are the only two states that split their electoral college votes by Congressional districts. In the 48 others, all electoral college votes are awarded to the winner of the respective state.

The battleground states of Georgia (16 electoral college votes), Michigan (16), North Carolina (15), Pennsylvania (20) and Wisconsin (10) will determine the outcome.

In states where the final, unofficial results are particularly close, both Trump and Biden have attorneys on standby to legally challenge any potential discrepancies. That could drag out the presidential outcome for weeks.

In 2016, Trump won the electoral vote and the presidency despite losing the popular vote to Hillary Clinton by nearly 3 million votes. By winning the key swing states of Florida, Pennsylvania, Ohio, Michigan and Wisconsin, Trump claimed 304 electoral votes to Clinton's 227.

​Dan McCaleb is the executive editor of The Center Square. He welcomes your comments. Contact Dan at dmccaleb@thecentersquare.com.

Executive Editor

Dan McCaleb is a veteran editor and has worked in journalism for more than 25 years. Most recently, McCaleb served as editorial director of Shaw Media and the top editor of the award-winning Northwest Herald in suburban Chicago.