Election 2020 Debate

Democratic presidential candidate former Vice President Joe Biden, second from right, speaks as candidates Sen. Bernie Sanders, I-Vt.,, right, and South Bend, Ind., Mayor Pete Buttigieg, left, and Sen. Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass., second from left, watch during a Democratic presidential primary debate, Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2019, in Atlanta.

Six Democratic candidates will participate in the seventh presidential primary debate on Tuesday night: former Vice President Joe Biden, former South Bend Mayor Pete Buttigieg, Sen. Amy Klobuchar, Sen. Bernie Sanders, businessman Tom Steyer, and Sen. Elizabeth Warren.

Each candidate had to receive 5% support or more in at least four national or early state polls or 7% support or more in at least two single state polls to meet the debate’s polling threshold.

The four early states are Iowa (Feb. 3), New Hampshire (Feb. 11), Nevada (Feb. 22), and South Carolina (Feb. 29).

Candidates also had to meet a fundraising threshold of 225,000 unique donors and a minimum of 1,000 donors in at least 20 states.

Steyer was the final candidate to qualify last week after two Fox News polls in South Carolina and Nevada showed him at 15 percent and 12 percent, respectively.

Andrew Yang is the only candidate who participated in the Dec. 19 debate who did not qualify for this event.

The debate will take place at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa, at 9 p.m. ET. CNN and The Des Moines Register are hosting the event with Wolf Blitzer, Abby Phillip, and Brianne Pfannenstiel moderating.

The next presidential debate will take place in New Hampshire on Feb. 7, four days after the Iowa caucuses.