Iowa Legislature

Iowa Speaker of the House Linda Upmeyer, center, is escorted by Rep. Pat Grassley, R-New Hartford, right, to take the oath of office during the opening day of the Iowa Legislature, Monday, Jan. 14, 2019, at the Statehouse in Des Moines, Iowa. Grassley will replace Upmeyer as speaker at the start of the 2020 session.

Iowa House Republicans on Monday elected Rep. Pat Grassley to be the next Speaker of the House.

Grassley, of New Hartford, will replace Linda Upmeyer as Speaker at the start of the 2020 legislative session.

Upmeyer announced last week that she is not running for re-election in 2020 and planned to step down as House speaker prior to the 2020 session.

Grassley has served in the Iowa House of Representatives since 2007.

The grandson of U.S. Senator Charles Grassley of Iowa, Pat Grassley was first elected to the state House in 2006 when he was 22 years old.

Also on Monday, state Rep. Matt Windscitl  was elected House Majority Leader and Rep. John Willis was elected Speaker Pro Tem.