Numerous laws passed by the Arizona legislature in the last legislative session take effect this week.
Lawmakers approved more than 300 new laws this year, with many key pieces of legislation officially on the books as of Tuesday. Among them are laws changing how the state regulates occupations.
Occupational licensing reform
Arizona lawmakers passed first-of-its-kind legislation that means the state will acknowledge occupational licenses obtained in other states. Proponents say House Bill 2569 cuts costly red tape for those who cross state lines looking for work.
Another occupational licensing law taking effect on Tuesday is Senate Bill 1401, which proponents say eases the regulatory burdens for those who work blow drying and shampooing hair.
Cities refund state for minimum wage hike costs
House Bill 2756, a budget bill signed by Gov. Doug Ducey, includes a measure that could allow state government to require reimbursement for costs incurred by local governments as a result of them raising the minimum wage above the state’s minimum wage rate.
State agency heads must report cost estimates “attributable to a county’s, city’s or town’s establishment of a minimum wage if that minimum wage exceeds the minimum wage established by this state,” the bill reads.
Critics say the measure was meant to discourage cities like Flagstaff, which is scheduled to incrementally increase to $15.50 in 2022, from raising the minimum wage higher than the state’s rate.
Vacation rental changes
Ducey signed House Bill 2672 that created limitations for short-term vacation rentals in an effort to reign in “party homes.” The legislation, which takes effect Tuesday, allows cities and counties to collect contact information from owners, making it easier to contact those staying at properties about noise complaints and other issues.
Medical records reform
Another piece of legislation going into effect, House Bill 1169, requires healthcare facilities that are shuttering to make medical records available to their former patients, closing a loophole and adding a $10,000 fine to non-compliant healthcare providers.